Financial Accounting

Red to the Row?

All I can remember when logging into Moodle to find my allocated company was chanting in my head “Please don’t be a Hong Kong company, please don’t be a Hong Kong company”. Now when I was heading into ACCT11059, all I wanted was an Australian company because I thought it would make completing my assessments earlier. Heading into ACCT11081, I didn’t honestly mind what nationality my company was, as long as it wasn’t HK based. So when I saw the letters UK next to my company name, I gave a little sigh of relief. Reading the name Redrow, I actually had no idea what industry my company was based around so immediately jumping over to Google; I found that it was a property development based company. I honestly have to admit that I was happy it wasn’t something I was familiar with, because I know I need to learn to step out of my comfort zone and this was one way how. Property development, what do I even know about property development I asked myself. Much to my surprise, at 11.30pm at night, my only response was ‘I guess they develop properties’. Knowing that at this stage I would probably drop more IQ points by asking more questions, I decided to try again tomorrow. Reading a little more into who Redrow are and what they do, I began to get a little excited because from the outside, they looking like a company that was growing and expanding quickly. Thanks to what I learned from ACCT11059, I know that you cannot judge a company by its website so I am looking forward to once again pulling apart my company and learning more about their reality.

Leave a comment